1. Welcome to Boards o' Magick, a friendly and active RPG community!

    You are currently viewing BoM as a guest, but you can register a Boards o' Magick account here. Registration is fast, easy and free. As a registered member you will have access to search the forums, create and respond to threads, communicate privately with other members, create and customise your social profile, create and view image albums, play games in our arcade and start a blog as well as access many other board features unavailable to guests. As our existing members will attest, BoM is one of the few popular online communities with a truly friendly and welcoming atmosphere, free from the troll infestations and flame wars so common on the majority of other message boards. We have been aiming for the highest quality with our forums from their inception, and we believe that this excellence is truly tangible and treasured by our members. We'd love to have you join us today and convince yourself!

    If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us. If you've forgotten your username or password, click here.
  2. SPS Accounts:
    Do you find yourself coming back time after time? Do you appreciate the ongoing hard work to keep this community focused, clean, exciting and successful in its mission? Please consider supporting us by upgrading to an SPS Account. Besides the warm and fuzzy feeling that comes from supporting a good cause, you'll also get a significant number of ever-expanding perks and benefits on the site and the message boards. Click here to find out more.

Deleting saves in FO3

Discussion in 'Fallout Series' started by trog69, Feb 5, 2011.

  1. trog69 Gems: 1/31
    Latest gem: Turquoise


    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    [​IMG] I save my game on a constant basis, due to instances of CTD, my idiotic gameplay, etc. This is as it should be, I'm told.

    What happens when I clean up the massive amounts of unneeded saves? I mean, in a run through the Deathclaw Sanctuary, for example, I'll have anywhere from 5 to 10 different save slots, so when I've progressed far enough past that instance, and playing elsewhere, when I save, I'll go back and erase most of the Deathclaw Sanctuary saves, except for the first entry, in case I need to go all the way back for some reason.

    So, first, is this necessary, or am I needlessly worrying about using too much memory for unneeded saves? And second, where do the deleted files end up? I mean, when deleting files on my computer, I still need to empty the bin, right? Is there some "bin" for these saves that should be "emptied" occasionally?

    If anyone is curious as to how I could even setup and play this game without knowing this basic info, it gets worse. I played the first time "vanilla", sans DLCs, because I didn't know that GOTY meant I already owned all the official DLC material. It was when I tried to purchase them through D2D that I was pointed to the location to check the boxes. D'OH!! :confused:
     
  2. Taluntain

    Taluntain Resident Alpha and Omega Staff Member ★ SPS Account Holder The Old Guard

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2000
    Messages:
    21,880
    Media:
    26
    Likes Received:
    342
    Gender:
    Male
    I don't know specifically how it is with Fallout 3, but most of the modern games tend to have quite large savegames. Of course, as long as you have a big hard drive that's mostly unused, that's not an issue. It's only potentially a problem if you're limited by the size of your hard drive or the partition where the game is installed. But if you've got say hundreds of savegames and hit the limit on your free disk space, the fix is easy enough - delete unused savegames.

    If you're deleting savegames in-game, there'll be no bin to empty - once you delete them, they're gone.
     
  3. trog69 Gems: 1/31
    Latest gem: Turquoise


    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks, Taluntain.

    The save game files average a little over 6megs each, so I'm not going to worry about that since I have almost 400gigs unused. As long as the ingame deletions aren't going anywhere, I will continue as I have.
     

Share This Page

Sorcerer's Place is an independent project run entirely by fans and for fans. Maintaining Sorcerer's Place and a stable environment for all our hosted sites requires a substantial amount of time and money on a regular basis, so please consider supporting us to keep the site up & running smoothly. Thank you!