1. SPS Accounts:
    Do you find yourself coming back time after time? Do you appreciate the ongoing hard work to keep this community focused and successful in its mission? Please consider supporting us by upgrading to an SPS Account. Besides the warm and fuzzy feeling that comes from supporting a good cause, you'll also get a significant number of ever-expanding perks and benefits on the site and the forums. Click here to find out more.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
You are currently viewing Boards o' Magick as a guest, but you can register an account here. Registration is fast, easy and free. Once registered you will have access to search the forums, create and respond to threads, PM other members, upload screenshots as well as access many other forum features unavailable to guests.

BoM cultivates a truly friendly and welcoming atmosphere. We have been aiming for quality over quantity with our forums from their inception, and believe that this excellence is truly tangible and valued by our members. We'd love to have you join us today and convince yourself!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us. If you've forgotten your username or password, click here.

Torment on Windows 7?

Discussion in 'Planescape: Torment (Classic)' started by findarato, Jan 7, 2011.

  1. findarato Gems: 3/31
    Latest gem: Lynx Eye


    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have to get a new PC, and that will have windows 7. Has anyone experience if Torment will run on that?
     
  2. Marceror

    Marceror Chaos Shall Be Sown In Their Footsteps Adored Veteran Pillars of Eternity SP Immortalizer (for helping immortalize Sorcerer's Place in the game!) Torment: Tides of Numenera SP Immortalizer (for helping immortalize Sorcerer's Place in the game!) BoM XenForo Migration Contributor [2015] (for helping support the migration to new forum software!)

    Joined:
    May 3, 2003
    Messages:
    2,765
    Media:
    226
    Likes Received:
    229
    Gender:
    Male
    I know of people who have played Torment on Windows 7, 32 and 64 bit. Some tweaking may be required to get it to run properly, but I have seen many reports of it working.

    I haven't tried it yet myself, as I haven't played Torment in some time.
     
  3. Faye

    Faye Life is funny. Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Messages:
    747
    Media:
    4
    Likes Received:
    9
    I have tried it and it does work with some tweaking but the game is quite buggy on Win7. GOG.com re-released torment (and a plethora of old and awesome games) and is available for download (with no DRM no less!). I am not sure if their version is fixed for Win7 but it says on their site that it is compatible.
     
  4. Darion

    Darion Resident Dissident ★ SPS Account Holder Veteran BoM XenForo Migration Contributor [2015] (for helping support the migration to new forum software!)

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    800
    Media:
    1
    Likes Received:
    42
    Gender:
    Male
    I have Torment on my Win7 64 Home Edition (Notebook) and it works with null problemo.
    (I have the One Disc edition of Torment! Which I got from a low price Bin in my local market.)

    I run the Unfinished Business and Tweaks pack with Ghosts GUI / Widescreen mod.

    Looks and works charmingly!

    I never had any problems with old Infinity Engine games on my newer Laptops or Desktops. (both Win7 64)
    And I have them all installed for underway, cuz i love them.

    -Sure It requires the CD to play, but one could easily make an Image for the sake of convenience.

    Only trouble ever is the Resolution, which is no trouble after the Widescreen mod!:cool:
     
  5. findarato Gems: 3/31
    Latest gem: Lynx Eye


    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for your replies!
    Yesterday evening I installed and played the game a bit, and it worked, so I am confident I still can play in the future.
    There was one bug, I had to reload and even restart the computer to get Deionarra appearing, but that bug I have had before when I played with XP.
    Otherwise there were no problems. (I got even Baldurs Gate installed, but that seems a bit buggier, problems with saving the game).
     
  6. gheorghe Gems: 1/31
    Latest gem: Turquoise


    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    worked fine for me, but dependening on your system, twaeking may be needed actualy
     
  7. B.Cord Edleman Jr. Gems: 1/31
    Latest gem: Turquoise


    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    I finally got this excellent Game to install on a Windows 10 PC.
    I had to have the patch first,then it installed like a champ.The only problem I have now is no game will save! I have the 4 Box Set for PC.
    Pain in the rear after plugging away for hours,come back later only to find no saved game! :(
    Almost became Hammer time! ;) lol But I know there's an easy fix somewhere out here!!!
     
  8. Keneth Gems: 27/31
    Latest gem: Emerald


    ★ SPS Account Holder Resourceful Adored Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Messages:
    2,661
    Likes Received:
    161
    Gender:
    Male
    If you happened to install the game into Program Files, that could be the cause of many issues. The old box sets saved their games into the installation folder from what I remember, so that seems like the most obvious cause. If you installed into a custom folder, then there could a number of other reasons why the serialization fails.
     
  9. SlickRCBD Gems: 23/31
    Latest gem: Black Opal


    Resourceful Veteran

    Joined:
    May 7, 2005
    Messages:
    1,547
    Media:
    16
    Likes Received:
    64
    Gender:
    Male
    A good idea is to create a new folder in the root directory and call it "games". Then use the command
    Code:
    icacls "c:\games" /grant users:(OI)(CI)F
    or with XP (still works in Vista and 7, I haven't tested it in 8.X or 10)
    cacls c:\games /e /g users:F
    
    Then use that as your install directory for old games that are compatible with Windows 9X such as the Infinity Engine games.

    I use the command line because I don't think Home users can set the permissions the way Professional users can.

    Here's a link explaining about icacls
    https://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/cc753525(WS.10).aspx
    https://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/magazine/2009.07.geekofalltrades.aspx

    and the old cacls (that I still tend to use on XP or 7)
    https://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/bb490872.aspx
     

Share This Page

Sorcerer's Place is an independent project run entirely by fans and for fans. Maintaining Sorcerer's Place and a stable environment for all our hosted sites requires a substantial amount of time and money on a regular basis, so please consider supporting us to keep the site up & running smoothly. Thank you!